Reviews

If you missed my post on Amazon Reviews and the reason for this page you can read it here… The Case of the Disappearing Reviews (on Amazon)

I have simply copied and pasted the reviews that have been posted on various websites.

Review sent to me via email

Reviewed by Alison Bird

Tomorrow’s Child by Starr West is a vivid and imaginative work that offers romance, vampires, magick, horror, mystery, politics, Greek goddesses and more. It is an apocalypse story, imagining a world devastated by climate change and consequential social upheaval. We are shown a very bleak future, but given hope based on a premise that old-fashioned self-sufficiency and home remedies will be vital survival skills, as well as community and family values with a strong foundation in intuition and pagan lore.

The novel is written in the first person, spoken by Psyche, a 17-year-old girl who must gain proficiency in magickal power to save humanity from destruction. She is nurtured by a wise grandmother whose community survives in a relatively safe valley in the north. An attractive young man named Phoenix also contributes to Psyche’s lessons in magick.

I found it heartening and inspiring to visualise a scene in the future where living lightly on the earth makes all the difference. It somehow affirms our current attempts to change to a more sustainable lifestyle and reduce our carbon footprint. The author knows her subject and indeed, she is highly involved in LETS and other local action for strengthening community resilience and resource efficiency.

I appreciated the respectful relationships in this novel, and I also loved the strong women who save the day. Women are presented very fairly here, unlike traditional tales of heroic action.

It is ambitious to write a tale dipping into such a variety of genres. It is Starr’s first novel, and a commendable effort. The question is always: can the reader suspend disbelief to accept the characters and events?

For me, perhaps not really, but then I’m one who is more comfortable with evidence-based claims than magic. However, despite this, I was hooked by the story and found myself reading on and entertained to the end. I know there will be many readers with New Age and Wiccan interests who will embrace the references to healing energy, auras, crystals, channelling, astral travelling, past lives and magick. Also I think the novel will appeal to a wide age-group, from teens to adult.

Congratulations, Starr West! Onward to continue the series as promised!

Alison Bird – Yungaburra

 Goodreads Reviews

Tomorrows Child by Starr West (Goodreads Author)

Carolyn Hockley’s review Apr 12, 12 ( Read from March 21 to April 11, 2012)

4.0 out of 5 stars

Psyche is a realistic character. I like the fact that she has hidden magical abilities but acts like a real person. Starr has captured my beliefs as to what our world would be like in the future after total devastation of our planet. I am keen to read her next instalment! Great read!

Reading Progress
12/4/2012 “Tomorrows Child is a unique look at our world through the eyes of those who see what is coming should we not take care of both our planet and each other. I enjoyed this book tremendously and look forward to Starr’s next instalment!”
27/3/2012 “I’m 40% through this fab book! I’m a little frustrated that I can’t put my other commitments aside and read all day :)”
 

Tomorrows Child by Starr West (Goodreads Author)

Sharon’s review Apr 21, 12 (Read from April 16 to 21, 2012)

5.0 out of 5 stars

Set in a time that could almost become a reality, Tomorrows Child tells the story of a community who comes together as they try to survive in a world that has spiralled out of control.

Interwoven in this story of survival is the story of Psyche Darnell. We follow Psyche as she learns about the gift that she was destined to receive, but is not sure she wants; and as she learns how to come to terms with everything this gift brings with it. She also discovers her link to Phoenix and why she is drawn to him so strongly and why he is always in her thoughts and dreams.
Along the way we are introduced to a host of characters (not all of them good) and discover how they affect Psyche on many different levels.

Starr West has created a truly believable story that is well written and takes the reader on a journey through darkness and light. There are moments of suspense and others of deep feeling where you feel your heart breaking along with the characters involved.

This is truly a thought provoking story, about what really could happen in a post-apocalyptic world.

Smashwords Reviews

Review by: Valerie Bellamy on April 29, 2012 : 5.0 out of 5 stars
Loved this book! Starr West draws you in right away and doesn’t let you go. Very well written!

Review by: Ella Medler on April 11, 2012 : 5.0 out of 5 stars
Tomorrow’s Child deals with an apocalypse idea by going deep and scrutinising people’s habits, actions and emotions in a way most authors would shy away from.

We meet Psyche Darnell and we know she is special. It takes a while for her to discover why and what she is expected to do with her gifts, her teenage hormones don’t make for an easy ride, but at least she is surrounded by friends. All she has to do is merely accept the truth, because Starr West is right – ‘you don’t have to believe in something for it to be true’.

It’s never easy admitting you are flawed, but here none of the characters are perfect. Despite this, or maybe because of it, you can’t help but feel close to them. There aren’t many without special attributes, so you can’t really mistake them for normal people, but they exude warmth and friendship, a strong sense of right and wrong and they would gladly sacrifice themselves for the greater good – the very essence of humanity.

The story is well written, in a strong and clear voice. There are points of darkness and suspense throughout the plot but it is not a dizzyingly fast carousel of action, and neither should it be. Scenarios such as this require careful consideration. You can’t just skip merrily to the next page without thinking about the problems posed to the last few surviving humans. You can’t not think of all the ramifications, all the what-ifs, all of the what-would-I-dos.

Starr is clearly a people watcher, a very keen observer, and it shows. The way different people deal with their own personal crises is portrayed brilliantly. The outcome is a ray of light, quite satisfying, and the epilogue gives a glimpse of future frictions and even confrontations. We’ll have to wait for book two to see how they unfold.
A good first entry, by a deep-thinking author and a very pleasant read. Just don’t expect to stop thinking about it when you’ve put it down.

(Ella also posted this review on Amazon and Goodreads)

Review by: Carla Eales on March 14, 2012 : 5.0 out of 5 stars
Really enjoyed this book, It is a future I hope never to witness. Love the use of Magick and the fact that it was set in Australia. Couldn’t put it down and Cannot Wait til the next book. It was well written and had me drawn in from the beginning LOVED IT

Review by: sharon on March 07, 2012 : 5.0 out of 5 stars
Tommorows child captured my imagination, set in a future not to hard to imagine at all , old world magick , a prophecy to believe in or not ! People I can relate to, this world comes alive and draws you in. This book is well written and was an easy read.
Hopefully we won’t have to wait to long for the next one.

Review by: hugh mcaulay on Feb. 29, 2012 : (no rating)
if you haven’t read this book then you are missing out. Starr has done a fantastic job with this story. The people are easy to identify with and understand, a fast read and enjoyable. Also read she had to cut 60,000 words from story to be able to publish so more story should be forth coming, I can’t wait.
Thank you Starr.

Review by: Tabetha Shannon on Feb. 23, 2012 : 5.0 out of 5 stars
I absolutely loved this book..The only problem I had was finding somewhere to hide from the family so I could read! The balance between human life and magick was perfectly created, realistic yet leaving your imagination running wild with possible outcomes!
Psyche and Phoenix together create the perfect duo, forever in your hearts as you watch them discover secrets from the prophecy.
I am sad to have reached the end, but I look forward to reading more from the fabulous Starr West x

Review by: Kelly Tyrrell on Feb. 08, 2012 : 5.0 out of 5 stars
PS. I forgot to add a star rating. From me it is 5 stars, all the way. Now for that sequel…..Author…ohh Author! Mush girl, mush!!

Review by: Kelly Tyrrell on Feb. 07, 2012 : (no rating)
A very human look at the apocalyptic vision of the future world. I enjoyed the character progression particularly and the absorption of the supernatural world by the primary characters. The antagonists are well drawn, scary and a hovering, ominous blight. I LOVE the interactions between the protagonists. ‘The End’ has left me craving more….I WANT a sequel!

Review by: Patti Roberts on Feb. 06, 2012 : 5.0 out of 5 stars
The Author, Starr West has a way with words. After reading the Hunger Games trilogy, I wanted to read something in a similar vein – a damaged world fighting for survival…and I found it with “Tomorrows Child”.
I started reading this story about Seventeen year old, Psyche and didn’t want to stop. I like the paranormal too so that really works for me too.
This is a very well written book with a captivating storyline based in a dystopian world on the verge of total destruction. Only a few survive….
Give it a go, I think you will agree.

AMAZON REVIEWS

AMAZON 5.0 out of 5 stars Patiently waiting…. for #2 in this Series:0)) February 20, 2012

By Dallas  Format: Kindle Edition

Absolutely LOVED this book, it got me in the first pages & I couldn’t put it down until I was finished, well written & can’t wait for the next in this series!!! A must read :0))

AMAZON 5.0 out of 5 stars Want the next one! February 13, 2012

By Rods wife.  Format: Kindle Edition

Thoroughly enjoyed this from go to whoa. Well told story that drags you in quickly and then keeps you turning the pages. Then you reach the last page…and start thinking about it (always a sign of a good book for me)…the scary thing is that this journey with an supernatural and apocalyptic premise is so very realistic and so very possible.

Advertisements

One response to “Reviews

  1. Pingback: The Case of the Disappearing Reviews (on Amazon) | Tomorrows Child

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s